What if Ohtani hits well… Absurdly come-from-behind defeat, even the manager is absurd “Two hits are too much”
The catcher came out twice in one inning to interfere with the bat. Los Angeles Angels Shohei Ohtani (29)’s teammate Matt Tais (28) provided the excuse for the come-from-behind loss.
The Angels lost an away game against the Boston Red Sox in the 2023 Major League Baseball, which was played at Fenway Park in Boston, Massachusetts, on the 16th (Korean time), 7-9. The Angels, who suffered 2 consecutive losses, recorded 7 wins and 7 losses in the season, with a winning rate of 50%. Six of the seven losses this year were reverse defeats, repeating the absence of a back heart.
Ohtani, who came out as the designated hitter No. 3, played an active role with 2 hits and 1 RBI in 4 at-bats. Ohtani, who recently raised his batting average to 30% (.313) with hits in three consecutive games, continued his 36 consecutive on-base streak since the game against the Houston Astros on September 12 last year.
The Angels, who overcame the starting pitcher with Geo Acella’s bases-slugging home run in the first inning, turned around as starting pitcher Tyler Anderson collapsed with 8 hits (2 homers), 4 walks, 2 strikeouts and 6 runs in 4 innings. However, in the 5th inning, Ohtani’s left-handed hit led to a tie at 6-6 with Anthony Rendon and Ursela’s timely hit at 1st and 3rd base. In the 7th inning, Ohtani hit left-handed bullpen Richard Blair with 2nd out and 2nd base and succeeded in reversing the game 7-6.
However, he blew a one-point lead eight times. After right-handed bullpen Ryan Tepera, who came up in the 8th inning, was hit by leadoff Enrique Hernandez, catcher Tais got a hit from Ramiel Tapia at bat. Tapia’s hit on the third pitch was caught as a floating ball by the left fielder, but the referee declared a hit obstruction. The catcher’s mitt touched the bat.
The situation where one company should have been 1st base has changed to 1st and 2nd base. Tepera struck out Triston Casas on a missed swing, but catcher Tais’ strike interference was declared again while Liz Maguire was at bat. Tyce’s mitt brushed against the bat on the second pitch foul hit, sending the batter to first base again as a hit interruption.
Two hit interruptions in one inning. Pitcher Tepera collapsed due to the catcher’s repetition of embarrassing mistakes. In the ensuing one-run, full base, Jang Wi-cheong hit the right time with 2 RBIs, and in an instant, he was reversed 7-8. He threw a hit ball to Justin Turner and allowed Rob Lefsnyder a push-off walk in the ensuing 2nd run with bases loaded.
In the end, Tepera, who passed the mound to Tucker Davidson without finishing the inning, recorded the first blown save and loss of the season with 2 hits, 1 walk, 1 strikeout and 3 runs (1 earned) in ⅔ innings. As Tepera complained of shoulder pain after the game, it became a more regrettable game for the Angels. Angels manager Phil Nevin said, “I will have to watch the video again, but the two hit interruptions are too many. I had a chance to win.”
According to the Orange County Register, Tais said after the game, “It’s terrible. We lost because of strike interference. It’s heartbreaking, but we’ll rise again tomorrow.” Tais also struck out in both at-bats at bat. Tyce, a corner infielder and catcher, has only reached base on two hit balls in four games this season, and he is silent with no hits and no walks in 11 at-bats.
On the other hand, the catcher’s obstruction of hitting occurred in Boston as well. In the second inning, Ohtani fouled Boston pitcher Nick Pivetta’s 4th pitch, but Boston catcher Conor Wong’s mitt touched it. It was a rare game in which strike interference occurred three times in one game. 메이저사이트